MythTV stuck on ‘choose country’ setup screen

Reports from the family that MythTV wasn’t working (along with the usual pleas for ‘why can’t we have Sky ?)

It was stuck at the ‘please choose your country’, then the first page of mythtv setup.

I fairly quickly established that the problem was mysql, but this is a bit of a black art to me, so I was very relieved when I found a link suggesting a possible cause, and even more relieved when it worked.

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/mythtvnz/527058

https://bugs.launchpad.net/mythbuntu/+bug/1084881

It does remind me that I really need to to think about a way to back up mythbuntu so I could rebuild it, if it died.

 

Leave a Reply

