Dansguardian Rebuild

I have a very simple DG setup on a VM running Ubuntu Server 11.something which has been running for ages.  Can’t remember how I set it up, but it would be broadly similar to
http://www.liberiangeek.net/2012/01/filter-the-web-with-dansguardian-in-ubuntu-11-10-oneiric-ocelot/

I point the home computer to this, and the firewall only lets this computer access the web.  Incredibly quick to do, and it ‘just works’.

The main thing I’ve had to do over time is add the odd thing to the exception site list.  This is not too hard to do by connecting to the server with SSH and using nano, but there is a nice webmin module for it.

So anyway, I wanted to add in multiple groups so that I could assign different ‘naughtiness limit’ values to each user.  I had a go doing this by modifying the existing setup, but mucked it up.  Fortunately VMware snapshots to the rescue I undid the damage and resolved to start with a brand new server.

Here’s my notes on what I did.  As always standing on the shoulders of giants, I include the URLs I worked from, with what I can remember of the mods I needed to get it to work for me.

Step1:

Install Ubuntu Server 12.04 LTS

Downloaded the ISO and created a new machine.  Using the VMWare console I chose to install SSH server – left everything else blank.  Needed to give it a static IP address.  I would have thought that this would be an option in the default start up dialogue, but nope, so edited /etc/network/interfaces

and changed my eth0 to something like

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.178
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1

I also edited my /etc/resolv.conf to add in my local DNS server, but there seems to be a fancy dynamic linking system now.  After reading up a bit I just deleted the dynamic link and recreated the file with sudo touch /etc/resolv.conf

Looking at other post like this one…
http://askubuntu.com/questions/180925/how-to-setup-static-ip-in-ubuntu-server-12-04

It seems that this is discouraged, but hey, it works.

One other note – several places suggest you do an apt-get update then apt-get upgrade

It seems to me that the ‘upgrade’ will mover you off the LTS release to the latest short lived one – am I right ?

Finally edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config and set the ListenAdress to something that will work and be secure.

You should now be ready to close VMware console, and work through SSH which is sooooo much easier (annoying VMware keeeeeeyboard bounceeeee in joooooke)

Part 2

Leave a Reply

